RAVEN

by still hungry

From 2019 CHAMÄLEON Productions will produce the contemporary circus piece RAVEN by the Berlin artist collective still hungry. The collective consists of the three artists Anke van Engelshoven, Lena Ries and Romy Seibt, who came together after many years of friendship to create innovative circus pieces together. Their works are fresh, feminist, strong, and do not shy away from exploring personal themes that are not easily found in circus.

In RAVEN, the artists explore the complex theme of motherhood. Based on their own experiences as artists and mothers, the performers intelligently and strikingly shed light on the stigma of the German term "Rabenmutter" (raven mother). With disarming directness, the performers present a moving performance on stage, challenging the status quo and inviting us to question and reconsider preconceived notions and sexist clichés.

In the first creation period of RAVEN, still hungry worked with the renowned director and performance artist Bryony Kimmings, who is known for her emotionally intelligent, provocative and progressive style.

Awards and Accolades:

WINNER of The Scotsman Fringe First Award 2019

Shortlisted for the Total Theatre Award for Circus 2019

WINNER of the ThreeWeeks Edinburgh Editors' Award 2019


In the press:

★★★★
"beautiful and spectacular... Among many other glorious qualities, Raven is particularly striking for the pitch-perfect ease with which it combines language and movement, as if the words acted as cues leading to soaring passages of movement that always add hugely to the meaning of the piece."
The Scotsman

★★★★
"An excellent hour of circus, physical theatre, and dance digging into what the performers gave up, and what they refuse to let go of."
Broadway Baby

★★★★
"contemporary feminist circus... strong and rousing"
EdFest Mag

"Heroes. Rock 'n' Roll goddesses."
The Circus Diaries

★★★★★
"When it all comes together it’s incredibly powerful, and I was wholly unprepared for the effect it would have on me."
ThreeWeeks Edinburgh

★★★★
"Raven is impressive, feminist and creative and undoubtedly not one to miss out on"
Voice Mag
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry

Creative Team:


Co-Authors and Performers
Anke van Engelshoven, Lena Ries, Romy Seibt
Co-Directed by: Rachel Hameleers
Creative Support: Bryony Kimmings
Producer: Anke Politz
Light Design: Dennis Nähr
Costume Design: Odile Hautemulle
Setdesign: Daniele Drobny
The creation of RAVEN was supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.
Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer
 

Tour Dates

Coming soon
 

Contact

For booking requests please contact : raven@chamaeleon-productions.com

RAVEN

by still hungry

CHAMÄLEON Productions produziert ab 2019 das zeitgenössische Zirkusstück RAVEN des Berliner Künstlerinnen-Kollektivs still hungry. Das Kollektiv besteht aus den drei Künstlerinnen Anke van Engelshoven, Lena Ries und Romy Seibt, die nach langen Jahren der Freundschaft zusammen gekommen sind, um gemeinsam innovative Zirkusstücke zu kreieren. Ihre Arbeiten sind frisch, feministisch, stark, und schrecken nicht davor zurück, persönliche Themen zu erkunden, die im Zirkus nicht so leicht zu finden sind.

In RAVEN setzen sich die Künstlerinnen mit dem komplexen Thema der Mutterschaft auseinander. Basierend auf ihren eigenen Erfahrungen als Artistinnen und Mütter beleuchten die Performerinnen klug und artistisch beeindruckend das Stigma des deutschen Begriffs der „Rabenmutter“. Mit einer entwaffnenden Direktheit bringen die Performerinnen eine bewegende Darbietung auf die Bühne, mit der sie den Status quo herausfordern und uns dazu einladen, vorgefasste Meinungen und sexistische Klischees zu hinterfragen und zu überarbeiten.

Für RAVEN arbeitete still hungry in der ersten Entwicklungsphase mit der renommierten Regisseurin und Performancekünstlerin Bryony Kimmings zusammen, die für ihren emotional intelligenten, provokativen und progressiven Stil bekannt ist.
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry
RAVEN by still hungry

Das Kreativteam:


Co-Autorinnen und Performerinnen:
Anke van Engelshoven, Lena Ries, Romy Seibt
Co-Regie: Rachel Hameleers
Kreative Unterstützung von: Bryony Kimmings
Produzentin: Anke Politz
Lichtdesign: Dennis Nähr
Kostümdesign: Odile Hautemulle
Setdesign: Daniele Drobny
RAVEN wurde in seiner ersten Fassung am 24. August 2018 auf dem Berlin Circus Festival uraufgeführt. Im Mai 2019 erfolgt die finale Produktionsphase des Stückes, gefolgt von internationalen Gastspielen.

Die Kreation von RAVEN wurde gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.
Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer
 

Aktuelle Termine

31. Juli - 27. August 2019: Edinburgh Festival Fringe
30. August - 1. Sept 2019: Berlin Circus Festival
 

Kontakt

Buchungs- und Materialanfragen bitte an: raven@chamaeleon-productions.com